Fifth about The Seventh

The 92nd Oscars® Nominees

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) is a professional honorary organization with the stated goal of advancing the arts and sciences of motion pictures. The annual Academy Awards, the Oscars, are a set of awards for artistic and technical merit in the film industry to recognize excellence in cinematic achievements as assessed by the Academy’s voting membership.

The complete list of nominees can be seen on their website or here. The 92nd Oscars will be handed Sunday, February 9th, 2020.

Here are the nominees:

Best Picture
Ford v Ferrari (Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, and James Mangold)
The Irishman (Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff)
Jojo Rabbit (Carthew Neal and Taika Waititi)
Joker (Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff)
Little Women (Amy Pascal)
Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach and David Heyman)
1917 (Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren and Callum McDougall)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh, and Quentin Tarantino)
Parasite (Kwak Sin-ae and Bong Joon-ho)

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Cynthia Erivo, Harriet
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
Charlize Theron, Bombshell
Renée Zellweger, Judy

Best Actor in a Supporting  Role
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood

Best Actress in a Supporting  Role
Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Scarlett Johannson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Best Directing
The Irishman (Martin Scorsese)
Joker (Todd Phillips)
1917 (Sam Mendes)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)
Parasite (Bong Joon-ho)

Best Film Editing
Ford v Ferrari (Michael McCusker and Andrew Buckland)
The Irishman (Thelma Schoonmaker)
Jojo Rabbit (Tom Eagles)
Joker (Jeff Groth)
Parasite (Yang Jin-mo)

Best International Feature Film
Corpus Christi (Poland)
Honeyland (North Macedonia)
Les Misérables (France)
Pain and Glory (Spain)
Parasite (South Korea)

Best Music (Original Score)
Joker (Hildur Guðnadóttir)
Little Women (Alexandre Desplat)
Marriage Story (Randy Newman)
1917 (Thomas Newman)
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (John Williams)

Best Production Design
The Irishman (Production Design: Bob Shaw; Set Decoration: Regina Graves)
Jojo Rabbit (Production Design: Ra Vincent; Set Decoration: Nora Sopková)
1917 (Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh)
Parasite (Production Design: Lee Ha-jun; Set Decoration: Cho Won-woo)

Best Visual Effects
Avengers: Endgame (Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken, and Dan Sudick)
The Irishman (Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser, and Stephane Grabli)
1917 (Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler, and Dominic Tuohy)
The Lion King (Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Elliot Newman)
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach, and Dominic Tuohy)

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
The Irishman (Steven Zaillian)
Jojo Rabbit (Taika Waititi)
Joker (Todd Phillips & Scott Silver)
Little Women (Greta Gerwig)
The Two Popes (Anthony McCarten)

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)
Knives Out (Rian Johnson)
Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach)
1917 (Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)
Parasite (Screenplay by Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won, Story by Bong Joon-ho)

Best Animated Feature Film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis, and Bonnie Arnold)
I Lost My Body (Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice)
Klaus (Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh, and Marisa Román)
Missing Link (Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner, and Travis Knight)
Toy Story 4 (Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen, and Jonas Rivera)

Best Cinematography
The Irishman (Rodrigo Prieto)
Joker (Lawrence Sher)
The Lighthouse (Jarin Blaschke)
1917 (Roger Deakins)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Robert Richardson)

Best Costume Design
The Irishman (Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson)
Jojo Rabbit (Mayes C. Rubeo)
(Mark Bridges)
Little Women
(Jacqueline Durran)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Arianne Phillips)

Best Documentary (Feature)
American Factory (Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert, and Jeff Reichert)
The Cave (Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod, and Sigrid Dyekjær)
The Edge of Democracy (Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris, and Tiago Pavan)
For Sama (Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts)
Honeyland (Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev)

Best Documentary (Short Subject)
In the Absence (Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone (If You Are a Girl) (Carol Dysinger and Elena Andreicheva)
Life Overtakes Me (John Haptas and Kristine Samuelson)
St. Louis Superman (Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan)
Walk Run Cha-Cha (Laura Nix and Colette Sandstedt)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Bombshell (Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan, and Vivian Baker)
Joker (Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou)
Judy (Jeremy Woodhead)
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil (Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten, and David White)
1917 (Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis, and Rebecca Cole)

Best Music (Original Song)
“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away”, from Toy Story 4 (Music and Lyric by Randy Newman)
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again”, from Rocketman (Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin)
“I’m Standing With You”, from Breakthrough (Music and Lyric by Diane Warren)
“Into the Unknown”, from Frozen II (Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez)
“Stand Up”, from Harriet (Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo)

Best Short Film (Animated)
Dcera (Daughter) (Daria Kashcheeva)
Hair Love (Matthew A. Cherry and Karen Rupert Toliver)
Kitbull (Rosana Sullivan and Kathryn Hendrickson)
Memorable (Bruno Collet and Jean-François Le Corre)
Sister (Siqi Song)

Best Short Film (Live Action)
Brotherhood (Meryam Joobeur and Maria Gracia Turgeon)
Nefta Football Club (Yves Piat and Damien Megherbi)
The Neighbors’ Window (Marshall Curry)
Saria (Bryan Buckley and Matt Lefebvre)
A Sister (Delphine Girard)

Best Sound Editing
Ford v Ferrari (Donald Sylvester)
Joker (Alan Robert Murray)
1917 (Oliver Tarney and Rachel Tate)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Wylie Stateman)
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (Matthew Wood and David Acord)

Best Sound Mixing
Ad Astra (Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson, and Mark Ulano)
Ford v Ferrari (Paul Massey, David Giammarco, and Steven A. Morrow)
Joker (Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic, and Tod Maitland)
1917 (Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson)
Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood (Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler, and Mark Ulano)


  1. Pingback: Casting a Ballot – 92nd Oscars® | Fifth about The Seventh

  2. Pingback: 92nd Oscars® – Guessing the Winners | Fifth about The Seventh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: